Read Red Shift by Alan Garner Free Online

Ebook Red Shift by Alan Garner read! Book Title: Red Shift
The author of the book: Alan Garner
Edition: HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
Date of issue: June 7th 1999
The size of the: 656 KB
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 2369 times
Reader ratings: 5.2
ISBN: 0006742955
ISBN 13: 9780006742951
Language: English
Format files: PDF

Read full description of the books:

A disturbing exploration of the inevitability of life. Under Orion's stars, bluesilver visions torment Tom, Macey and Thomas as they struggle with age-old forces. Distanced from each other in time, and isolated from those they live among, they are yet inextricably bound together by the sacred power of the moon's axe and each seek their own refuge at Mow Cop. Can those they love so intensely keep them clinging to reality? Or is the future evermore destined to reflect the past?

Download Red Shift PDF Red Shift PDF
Download Red Shift ERUB Red Shift PDF
Download Red Shift DOC Red Shift PDF
Download Red Shift TXT Red Shift PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Red Shift read Online! Alan Garner OBE (born 17 October 1934) is an English novelist who is best known for his children's fantasy novels and his retellings of traditional British folk tales. His work is firmly rooted in the landscape, history and folklore of his native county of Cheshire, North West England, being set in the region and making use of the native Cheshire dialect.

Born into a working-class family in Congleton, Cheshire, Garner grew up around the nearby town of Alderley Edge, and spent much of his youth in the wooded area known locally as 'The Edge', where he gained an early interest in the folklore of the region. Studying at Manchester Grammar School and then Oxford University, in 1957 he moved to the nearby village of Blackden, where he bought and renovated an Early Modern building known as Toad Hall. His first novel, The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, was published in 1960. A children's fantasy novel set on the Edge, it incorporated elements of local folklore in its plot and characters. Garner completed a sequel, The Moon of Gomrath (1963), but left the third book of the trilogy he had envisioned. Instead he produced a string of further fantasy novels, Elidor (1965), The Owl Service (1967) and Red Shift (1973).

Turning away from fantasy as a genre, Garner produced The Stone Book Quartet (1979), a series of four short novellas detailing a day in the life of four generations of his family. He also published a series of British folk tales which he had rewritten in a series of books entitled Alan Garner's Fairy Tales of Gold (1979), Alan Garner's Book of British Fairy Tales (1984) and A Bag of Moonshine (1986). In his subsequent novels, Strandloper (1996) and Thursbitch (2003), he continued writing tales revolving around Cheshire, although without the fantasy elements which had characterised his earlier work. In 2012, he finally published a third book in the Weirdstone trilogy.


Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.

Reviews of the Red Shift


The book caused contradictory feelings!


Do you need a book to diversify your evening? Maybe you found her.


Best among ordinary


Why do I need to drive a phone number?


The book that found the answer to my question

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Red Shift by Alan Garner Online free

PDF: red-shift.pdf Red Shift PDF
ERUB: red-shift.epub Red Shift ERUB
DOC: red-shift.doc Red Shift DOC
TXT: red-shift.txt Red Shift TXT